.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Saturday, November 04, 2006


Self-Publishing and POD Awards and Contests

Peter Bowerman gives the following list of awards and contests for self-publishing in his book The Well-fed Self Publisher which I have reviewed here. I can't vouch for the integrity or worth of any of them personally, but I intend to enter my novel Arise Beloved if it meets the entry criteria. Does anyone have any information on any of the others?

Bejamin Franklin Awards
Sponsor: PMA,the Independent Book Publishers Association
Web site: www.pma-online.org

The IPPY Awards
Sponsor: Independent Publisher
Web site: www.independentpublisher.com
Aydy Press the publisher of my first novel A Perfect Peace was a finalist in the IPPY competition last year for Brian S. Matthews's sci-fi novel New Wilderness.

ForeWord Magazine's Book of the Year Awards
Sponsor: ForeWord magazine
Web site: www.forewordmagazine.com

Writer's Digest International Self-Published Book Awards
Sponsor: Writer's Digest magazine
Web site: www.writersdigest.com

And, for a larger list of competitions (including ones for conventionally published books)

I also received the following email inviting me to enter the Nautilus Books Awards 2007. This is a new one for me, so I am including the entire text of the email. Note that the Nautilus Awards are associted with Jenkins Group Inc. which has been mentioned before in this forum.

The Nautilus Book Awards 2007 – Call for Entries "Recognizing Books that Promote Spiritual Growth, Conscious Living, and Positive Social Change" Orcas Island, WA -- The sixth annual Nautilus Book Awards are now accepting entries in 20 subject categories, honoring books that contribute to our society’s awareness and well-being, and that embrace spiritual and ecological values such as compassion, sustainability, simplicity, and global peace. Any book copyrighted or released in 2005 or2006, in English, is eligible. Final deadline for entering is January 15, 2007. A downloadable, four-page PDF with complete guidelines and entry form, and online, secure entry are both available at www.independentpublisher.com/nautilus. Why Nautilus? Since ancient times, storytellers and scribes worldwide have gathered and shared the culture’s words and ideas in ways that encourage its people to think, feel, and improve the lives of upcoming generations. For centuries, the world’s great philosophers and leaders have used books to inspire the masses and affect their attitudes and emotions – not always for the better. Today, with mass global communication, political unrest, and religious and secular fanaticism all growing at an alarming rate, the need for books that promote “green living” and positive social change is great, and the phrase, “Changing the World One Book at a Time” is more meaningful than ever before. Authors and publishers and their books CAN and ARE making a difference. The Nautilus Book Awards were conceived to recognize and reward these world-changing books, and celebrate how they contribute to positive social change, spiritual growth, high-level wellness, and responsible leadership. 20 categories in all, including three children’s book categories and both adult and juvenile Visionary Fiction, will showcase the most creative, inspirational, and life-changing books available today. Award winners will be announced during a Nautilus Book Awards presentation at BookExpo America on Saturday, June 2, 2007, at the Jacob Javits Center in New York. A winner, runner-up, and 3-4 finalists will be named for each category, a special award will be given to the top small press or self-published title, and two overall Grand Prize winners (one adult and one children’s) will be presented with the Nautilus Book of the Year Awards. Winning titles will be featured in a Nautilus Book Awards exhibit booth at BookExpo America, and will be promoted on the Nautilus website for one year. Visit the Nautilus Book Awards website at www.marilynmcguire.com for background information, or contact Awards Producer Marilyn McGuire at marilyn@marilynmcguire.com with any questions. A downloadable, four-page PDF with complete guidelines and entry form, and online, secure entry are both available at www.independentpublisher.com/nautilus. The Nautilus Book Awards 2007 are presented by Marilyn McGuire & Associates, Inc. of Eastsound, WA and co-sponsored and administered by Independent Publisher Online of Traverse City, MI.
> Marilyn McGuire & Associates, Inc. have assisted and supported the creation, publication, marketing and sales of books, music and other products that make a distinguished contribution to the world in the areas of holistic health, self-help & psychology, responsible leadership, spiritual growth, positive social change, and the principle of sustainability in all human enterprise for twenty years. www.marilynmcguire.com Independent Publisher Online is an electronic magazine containing news and features about the world of independent publishing. It is owned and operated by Jenkins Group Inc., a provider of marketing and custom book publishing services for independent publishers. www.bookpublishing.com .

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?